Thief

Standard

Chronic illness is a thief. It takes from those who suffer many, many things. It can feel as though your whole life has been taken away from you. Your loves, hobbies, and often times your happiness. One of my hobbies that I love so much is photography. I used to take photos of everything almost daily. The world around me, my children, myself. Everything that I love, I would capture piece by piece, image by image I would take stills of my days so I could remember these moments forever. The last few months I have been so sore and stiff that I have not been able to do photography as much as I used to. There are many times I look around and I think, Leaf in rain “This is beautiful! I should photograph it!” But this means opening the clasps of my camera bag. Taking the protective caps from the lens, and the camera. Putting the lens on the camera. Adjusting the settings. Then I am ready to take a photo! This sounds like maybe 15-30 seconds of work, which would be accurate for the average person, but when your hands hurt and your joints are stiff, this takes much longer. Not only does it take longer, it hurts. I use my hands all day for various tasks. Zipping sweaters. Buttoning pants. Tying shoes. Then I get to work and I type, click, and navigate my computer. It doesn’t seem like much, but my hands can hurt and ache by 10 am.

Today is a dark and rainy day. My whole face hurts, to the point that it even aches to move my eyes. My hands, feet, elbows, and knees all feel like they have been stabbed and prodded with a screw driver. Long story short: I am in pain. But looking outside… it is so beautiful. I love the rain! I love what it does to the world, and I wanted to capture it! I decided I was going to ignore these pains. That I am going to take at least ten minutes outside and photograph this dark, dreary, beautiful day! The following images are creations from me. These are the result of about 10 minutes outside in my parking lot, and another hour or so of picking up and putting down my laptop for editing. I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoyed taking them.

Leaf on gravel

Reflection of my house

Greasy Water

Leave a Reply

